I love watches, I love new and old watches. But what I love most are watches with a distinctive or unique design. As I wrote in my previous blog post I love the Breguet 7337 which have a unique design. Another watch I adore is the Glashütte Original PanoMaticLunar

glashutte-panomaticlunar-90-02-42-32-05_PML_St_si_2
Glashütte Original PanoMaticLunar

I simply love when brands and watch makers make something different. For me personally a watch is a mans best accessory and maybe the most import jewelry men got (some might argue that title would befall the wedding ring, but this is quite debatable).

I truly admire what a company like MB&F are doing. They seem to be making watches and designs simply because it is fun and because they can. I hope and dream that more watch brands would do the same and design something new and odd – something special. It doesn’t really matter if it is pretty or ugly – it just needs to be special.

HM6-Space-Pirate.jpg
MB&F HM6

With some of these special watches out there, one thing I don’t understand is this; why would old and especially new watch brands design new watches which are boring or uninspiring in design?

When You have the opportunity to design why would You design something utterly boring and not create something new and special? When a new brand starts out, I wish more brands would create something special.

 

longines-elegant
Old Brand – boring design

In my opinion, if you use a standard or “off the shelf movement” (Seiko, Miyota or ETA) you need to do something special regarding the design of your watch. There are too many brands out there making watches that look almost the same, so why not make something different?

If you don’t know how to make a special watch design you should make a special movement. Companies like Mont Blanc and Frederique Constant makes watches with are quite simple in design, but the movement, taking price into consideration, is special.

191297-ecom-retina-01.png.adapt.1500.1500.png
Montblanc Heritage Spirit Perpetual Calendar

It is my hope that watch brands and designers will come out of the kiddy pool and consider jumping of the 10 meter platform and into the deep end of the pool, and start making more special movements and designs! Please!

 

Leave a Reply

