The Grail watch! All with an interest in watches got one. The grail watch does not need to be something incredibly expensive such as Eric Claptons Patek Philippi 2499

EricClaptonsPatekPhilippe249919
Patek Philippe 2499 in platin 

It could be something a bit more humble and more available. A collegue of mines grail watch is the great Rolex GMT-Master II Pepsi in stainless steel.

Rolex Pepsi
Rolex GMT-Master II “Pepsi”

All watch lovers got one for them self. The one watch they dream to own at one point in their life. For some this dream watch might be unattainable for them simply because of the cost. For others the grail watch will take years to obtain. There might be many reasons for this; limited availability, costs, time and profound considerations.

My own personal grail watch is the Breguet 7337 in rose gold. I don’t really have a good reason for this, I just simply fell in love with the watch.

7337br_1e_9v6_0
Breguet 7337 in rose gold

I initially fell in love with the Breguet 3330, but I feared it was too small at 36mm. The 7337 is 39mm which seamed as a much better size for my wrist. A couple of years ago my wife and me was in New York were I took the opportunitet to visit Breguets boutique on 5th avenue. I had the utmost pleasure to try out the watch, and I must admit that if I where in  love with the watch before, trying it on sealed the deal! It simply looked gorgeous on my wrist. Had I had remotely the capital at the time I would have left the store with the watch on my wrist!

At last I did not. Then a couple of months ago I was that Sotheby’s  had not just one, but two 7337s on auction! The estimated prices where even within my price range (albeit I might have to stretch quite a bit).  During the week up to the auction my wife threatened to divorce, torture and murder me if I didn’t shut up about the auction (I might have been carried away a bit)

3330.jpg
Breguet 3330

I did not have the opportunitet to attend the auction live in New York, so I had to follow the auction online. I you, dear reader, have never participated in an live auction I would highly recommend you to try it out! It is quite thrilling.

But back to the auction, the two watches I had my eyes on were lot 201 and lot 221. So I had some time to see at what level the watches went for. Most of the watches sold for prices I found reasonable and I got my hope up – I might succeed (to some dismay of my dear wife, I might add)!

The first of the two 7337s came up (the one with the highest estimate and best condition), it went for less then its estimate! I might really have a chance to get my grail watch. When the second 7337 came up, my heart was racing! Could this happen?

The auction started and the price flew up, then stalled just shy of my limit, and I bid. Unfortunately this just sparked further bidding and after a flurry of bids the 7337 was out of my price range. Shoots! Well it was a blast to try, and I will try again some other time!

In the mean time, I will continue to dream of the 7337 and:

sadpanda
Sad panda is sad

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

